National Agricultural Insurance Scheme (NAIS)

The National Agricultural Insurance Scheme (NAIS/Rastriya Krishi Bima Yojana) has been under implementation in the Gujarat State since its introduction by the Govt. Of India in the Rabi / Summer 1999-2000 season. The main aim of the scheme is to stabilize farmers’ income, particularly in disaster years by providing insurance coverage and to provide financial support to the farmers in the event of failure of any of the notified crop as a result of natural calamities, pest and diseases.

A total of 26 crops are covered under the scheme as mentioned below. Kharif Crops: - Paddy, Bajra, Maize, Ragi, Sorghum, Tur (Arhar), Green Gram. Black Gram, Math, Groundnut, Sesamum, Castor, Cotton and Banana. Rabi- Summer Crops: - Irrigated Wheat , Un- Irrigated Wheat, Gram, Rape seed/Mustard, Summer Bajra, Summer Groundnut, Potato, Onion, Garlic, Cumin, Fennel and Isabgul.

Agriculture Insurance Company of India Ltd. (AIC) is an implementing agency for NAIS. AIC collects premium, & calculates, sanctions the applicable claims, receives the claims share from concern Government and settles the claims through nodal banks.

The scheme is implemented on area approach. Taluka is the unit of insurance in the state. The claims under the scheme are calculated on the basis of reduction in the yield per hectare for that year as compare to threshold yield based on the average yield per hectare of last five/three years. The yield per hectare is estimated on the basis of Crop Cutting Experiments (CCEs) being conducted by the Agriculture Department of State Govt.

Eligibility criteria

All farmers growing the notified crops in the notified areas are eligible for coverage.

The scheme covers following group of farmers:

Benefits of the Scheme

All farmers can participate in this scheme. Farmers are provided financial support in the event of failure of any of the notified crop as a result of natural calamities, pest and diseases.

How to get benefits of the scheme

Farmers growing notified crops in notified area and who avail seasonal agricultural Operation loans (crop loans) from financial institutions are covered compulsorily While, other farmers who do not avail crop loan, can participate in the scheme voluntarily by paying premium for notified crop to nodal bank of concern notified area.

Forms or GR related to scheme

Farmers need to contact financial institution (Co-operative society / Bank) to participate in the scheme.

National Agriculture Insurance Scheme Season /year Sum of Farmers Sum of Area in HECT. Sum of Sum Insured (Rs.) Sum of Premimum (Rs.) Sum of Subsidy (Rs.) Sum of Claims (Rs.) Sum of Far Mers Bene Fitted

Kharif- 200011828222447306.9216565133529.00627668484.0087291967.007691611581.96975292
Kharif- 200112544122429282.2119799970062.95735826887.4683048109.971485536796.92262013
Kharif- 200211687272280315.6420275105433.00875686237.8777388267.167259579197.20671453
Kharif- 200310164292183095.6519102712240.50985270054.2958657773.1158342792.0715114
Kharif- 200410678872216951.0419861991155.001084406946.5732810132.442921835233.37346955
Kharif- 20058796181891593.9719928253492.27849025610.2227052274.17320795058.9034384
Kharif- 20068636131820439.1421162896878.00821999362.7825665686.855845809352.55450226
Kharif- 20078249231748610.8322160869229.07815533552.1025098050.95227446371.6835306
Kharif- 20088134581794250.3423241336349.91826352517.9124307450.054669228824.91283165
Kharif- 20099145671995989.9929441752299.311039649813.7231206292.598010984481.40530206
Kharif- 20109270501989699.4533233710205.341159375743.3635211962.63680015909.6370240
Kharif- 20119764832083817.9841270019060.771437716671.6344876079.273165328568.87259839
Kharif- 201211437682472759.6260648124386.702334778371.75301838085.4721903933893.82850622
Rabi- 19991481826123.30200713407.004313307.00670821.5021802361.937915
Rabi- 20003212662707.35359466573.007794642.001056134.5027094231.788452
Rabi- 20012838647132.25330701448.006254896.00732581.205150229.1310517
Rabi- 20022675042646.76353259520.008440848.03765158.6423863855.308381
Rabi- 20032012734521.90357091956.008191276.93457724.60198580.5251
Rabi- 20051145920307.57265845700.004236412.47113314.58236844.88500
Rabi- 20061408025864.61397192654.007016754.01210779.465272986.963984
Rabi- 20071447225834.15351543700.006738895.00185932.1011284256.262169
Rabi- 20082823256416.51760822243.0013703213.00445701.50114884176.9122327
Rabi- 20093385267064.061106925634.2018554223.73603448.7046957626.206550
Rabi- 20103901580747.891446618894.0027978349.51874423.2529680523.546759
Rabi- 20113328272199.651521959758.4023269641.92725305.2225084568.545810
Rabi- 20123277271200.991581810394.3427528815.88891572.15117282200.8516035
Kharif Total1303375727354112.78346691874321.8213593290253.66854452131.6664240448063.284784815
Rabi Total329371632766.999033951881.94164021275.487732897.40428792442.8099450
Grand Total1336312827986879.77355725826203.7613757311529.14862185029.0664669240506.084884265