University of Agricultural and Horticultural Sciences, Shivamogga

  • 159
  • 0

The University of Agricultural and Horticultural Sciences, Shimoga (UAHS) is the first integrated university in the state of Karnataka, which has both agricultural and horticultural sciences under its purview. It was established under the Karnataka Act no. 38 of 2012, vide notification no. Sam. Vya. Sha. ilakhe, 19 Shasana 2012, dated 21-09-2012 published in the Special Gazette of Karnataka, part IV – A, No. 656, on 21-09-2012 bringing it into immediate effect. It was carved out by separating seven districts from the jurisdictional area of University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore and including all the institutes which came under the University of Horticultural Sciences, Bagalkot. The jurisdictional area of UAHS, Shimoga covers the districts of Shimoga, Chickamaglur, Udupi, Dakshina Kannada, Kodagu, Davanagere and Chitradurga.


The head quarters of UAHS, Shimoga is connected to the State capital, Bangalore by road (NH 206) and NH 13 also passes through the city. It is also connected to Bangalore through Train. with a journey of five hours. Nearest airport is Bangalore with 270 Km distance. The head quarters is surrounded by many tourist places like Jog falls, Sringeri, Agumbe, Lion Safari, Bhadra and Kuduremukha reserve forests, etc among many.


The new University of Agricultural and Horticultural Sciences, Shimoga, came into independent existence on 1st April 2013 with Dr.P.M. Salimath serving as the Special Officer, exercising the full pledged powers of the Vice-Chancellor


Recent Activity

    • Recent Activity
    • commented on
    • Comment
    • Like On Post
    • likes
    • Vote
    • New Post

    • New Post