Tamil Nadu farmer received progressive farmer award 2019 in all India level

By Times Of India on 05 Apr 2019 | read
Farmer PRM Ravichandran from Thandigudi village in Dindigul district has received ICFA progressive Farmer Award 2019. The award has been given in the category of Farm Extension during 2nd All India Progressive Farmers Convention 2019 jointly organised by Indian Council of Food and Agriculture, New Delhi and All India Farmers Alliance at Constitution Club, New Delhi.

He was honoured by Dr Ashok Bajpai, member of Parliament in the presence of Dr MJ Khan, Chairman Indian Council of Food and Agriculture, New Delhi, Dr Rajaram Tripathi, President, All India Farmers Alliance and Mr. Raman Mittal, Executive Director, Sonalika Group, New Delhi Indian Council of Food and Agriculture who are envisioning of providing expose to farmers by sharing successful agribusiness models and sensitising them with policies, schemes, technologies and markets.

Rewarding evolution will be evident when farmers themselves become role models for fellow farmers. This main aim of this forum is to establish national level platform for progressive farmers to share success stories and connect with the industry and key stake holders for collaboration and growth opportunities. In this convention more than 300 progressive farmers were attended in all over India and 12 farmers received awards in various categories for the development of agriculture.

Farmer Ravichandran has served the students community for the past 15 years and shared his farming knowledge to school students and TNAU students in various activities. He also took special efforts to conduct farm school in his field for horticulture experts to study the various cultivation aspects of vegetables through ATMA scheme. He has been serving the farming community for the past two decades by participating in various activities in Thandigudi. He also started a small producer organisation (SPO) with 100 farmers in Thandigudi for the development of agriculture farmers. And, he is also a member of board of management, Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore. Earlier in 2017, he was conferred with Harit Kranti Award 2017 from ICAR and AIASA during 3rd NYC at Assam Agricultural University, Assam.