Celebration Of Kisan Diwas At Kvk Gonikoppal, Kodagu



Kisan Diwas Was Celebrated on 23rd December,2018 at KVK Gonikoppal, Kodagu campus Jointly by the Department of Agriculture, CHES, Chettalli and ICAR-KVK, Gonikoppal. About 100 farmers, Staff from Department of Agriculture, KVK and CHES Chettalli participated in the function. The programme was inaugurated by Shri Raghu Nanaiah, President, Taluka Krishika Samaja President. Other guests on the stage were Shri Chotu Kaverappa, President Zilla Krishika Samaja President, Shric S.C. Thimmaiah progressive farmer, Smt Ashwini Nanda and Shri M.P. Somaiah, President Puthari Farmers Producer Co. Ltd. The programme started with lighting of the lamp, followed by Felicitation of Progressive farmers for their integrated farming and Cleanliness in farming and minimum use of external inputs. Shri S.C. Thimmaiah of Nallur village, Ponnampet, Virajpet and Smt. Ashiwini Nanda were felicitated for their achievements in farming. Puthari Farmers organisation was felicitated in recognition of their services to the farming community.

The award winning farmers addressed the farmers and talked in detail about their farming practices and how through integrated farming system they are reducing the cost of cultivation and achieving higher productivity. The programme started with the playing of Farmers Song. In the beginning Smt. Reena, ADA, Agriculture Department welcomed the dignitaries and the farmers. The whole programme was coordinated by Shri Veerendra Kumar and  Shri B. Prabhakar, SMS of this KVK.